Learn About Bayport
Bayport, NY is a picturesque hamlet located in the Town of Islip on Long Island. Situated in Suffolk County, in the state of New York, Bayport runs south of Sunrise Highway all the way to the shores of the Great South Bay.
Bayport has a town beach and two town marinas with over 200 boat slips, beautiful parks, and recreation areas, as well as many historical homes and buildings. According to the 2010 census, Bayport has a population of approximately 8,896 people. The hamlet is relatively small and covers an area of about 3.8 square miles. Close to the beach, mostly suburban and residential, with an accredited school system, Bayport is an ideal place to live and raise a family.
The Secatogue Indians originally inhabited the area now known as Bayport. When the first settlers arrived, however, very few Secatogue Indians remained. In 1697, a wealthy Englishman named William Nicoll III, (who came from a wealthy family in Islip) purchased a large area of land that encompassed many current Long Island towns, including the area that would eventually be named Bayport.
He died in 1780. Years later (against his wishes), his son William Nicoll IV, divided up and sold portions of this vast area of land, apparently to clear an enormous debt. In the 1820s, his son continued to sell parts of the property, which was mostly used for farming. With new families moving to the area and the establishment of new farms and commerce, the area started to flourish. By the mid-19th century, over 70 percent of the city residents relied on their land to farm or the nearby bay as a means for income and to make a living. By 1860, over 75 families lived in the hamlet and 1869, and the Bayport railroad station was built. The railroad not only helped to transport goods and commerce, but it also turned the town into a summer resort for residents of New York City as many of the farms began to be sold and transformed into to summer estates. The hamlet was officially named Bayport in 1871.
The Bayport-Blue Point Heritage Association was established in 1983 and was developed to preserve the history and culture of the towns of Bayport and neighboring Blue Point. The members of the organization collect and maintain historical information about the cities, their residents, historical buildings and any other pertinent historical information. This organization has over 300 members. New members are always welcome and can call 631-472-4625 to find out more information and join the organization.
Located on Paulanna Avenue in Bayport, Bayport Beach has a fishing dock, a picturesque gazebo, a children’s playground and of course, a beautiful sandy beach for swimming. The park is dedicated to the memory of fallen Suffolk County Police Officer Glen L. Ciano.
Browns River East Marina
Browns River East Marina is located on Seaman Avenue in Bayport. The marina has 127 public boat slips available to residents to rent during the summer boating season. It is a clean and well-maintained marina. It also offers water, electricity and a pump-out station during the summer months.
Located on Middle Road in Bayport, Bayport Commons is a popular sports complex that features softball and baseball fields, a batting cage, basketball courts, and a concession stand. It also has a beautiful, sentimental memorial garden dedicated to those touched by cancer.
Camp Edey is home to a camp run by the Girl Scouts of Suffolk County. It is located on Lakeview Avenue in Bayport on 95 beautiful, sprawling acres right on the Sans Souci Lakes. The grounds also feature two pools, an archery range, hiking trails, and a pond. In the winter, the Girl Scouts set up a beautiful drive through Holiday Light Show that is open to the public. All of the proceeds of the holiday light show support programs for girls and families across all of Suffolk County.
The Bayport Aerodrome is a historic rural, grass-strip airport. It has a grass runway and is owned and operated by the Town of Islip. It also features many aviation artifacts, photographs and vintage planes at a museum located on the premises. It is also run by the Bayport Aerodrome Society, a non-profit organization that specializes in antique airplanes and artifacts. The museum is open to the public on the first and third Sundays of the spring and fall months.
The Meadow Croft Estate
Meadow Croft was the summer estate of John Ellis Roosevelt and his family. It was built in the 19th century and was designed by Isaac H. Green, Jr. of Sayville. It features a main house, a carriage house, an auto house, a caretaker's cottage, and a swimming pool. The estate was restored to its original beauty with the help of the Bayport-Blue Point Heritage Association, which also manages its care and upkeep. The estate is owned and administered by the Suffolk County Parks Department, and the grounds are open to the public year round. Tours of the home are available on Saturdays and Sundays from 2 pm -4 pm during June through October.
Bayport also features many diverse and small family-run businesses as well as some larger supermarkets and pharmacies including King Kullen, Furci Fine Foods and CVS pharmacy.
Bayport is a beautiful community with waterside views, fantastic parks and beaches, a vast and fascinating history and many residents who are happy to have made their homes here!
Bayport Blue Point Heritage Organization
Bayport - NY Times.com